Jasmine Perfumes

芬芳美麗滿枝椏
又香又白人人誇

My name is Jasmine.

And for years, I had tried to avoid scents with a dominant jasmine note despite my growing love for the scent – because I didn’t understand how I could love it so much at times, and scrub it off at others.

FullSizeRender (6).jpg

My initial venture into jasmine scents were not good, in fact most screamed ‘hotel soap ‘ to me. This was because synthetic jasmine tends to smells deceptively clean. Spring-time white petaled cleanness with a metallic tang – much too airy and transparent for my tastes!

I love rich and warm scents, and though I’ve grown to appreciate lighter jasmine’s for layering – I still hardly wear them alone. Even when choosing a layering jasmine, I tend to opt for greener options with a honeyed edge. Demeter Jasmine, and Annick Goutal Le Jasmin are both great layered over ‘cooler’ florals for some warmth. While Jo Malone Jasmine & Mint is my go-to for layering on more masculine scents.

Retro jasmines were an interesting venture, and Jean Patou Joy was an instant love for me (as I adore big while florals), although I steered clear of Chanel No.5 – which will always be my mom’s scent for me. Joy is a warmer soul than No.5, but both have a conservative aura to them despite how curvaceous and lush their characters are, and I frequently wear Joy to the races at the Hong Kong Jockey Club. The jasmine in Tom Ford Fleur de Chine is strange, almost like a jasmine that teeters on the edge of bitter, but a great modern re-interpretation of a retro white floral.

Trying out some more, I’ve come to realize that my love lies with animalic musky jasmines, or more fruity indolic blooms. Serge Luten A La Nuit (which I use sparingly) and By Kilian Good Girl Gone Bad (a fruity white floral cocktail) remain my favourites, but outside of the niche market, Dior J’adore with it’s almost tart jasmine is a easy to reach for crowd pleaser that won’t scare people away unlike A La Nuit and Good Girl Gone Bad.

As a little treat, here’s one of my favourite songs – also titled ‘Jasmine’:

Share what you think!

