Sweater Weather

Let’s have an adventure

It’s been a while since I last posted anything as I’ve just begun Law school and I’m still trying to work out how to fit blogging into my new (very full) schedule. Today’s post is the Sweater Weather Tag and I was tagged by the lovely Paige at She Be Chic to do it (click here to read hers!).

Favourite candle scent

Since I live in the university halls, unfortunately, I’m not allowed candles – or anything with flames for that matter… So it’s a ‘no’ to birthday candles =[

I do however burn candles in Hong Kong, and I particularly like Palais de Thé’s Thé Du Hamman Berries Candle. I love the tea version as well, and it smells like a sweeter version of the tea – very similar to the Turkish Bath it’s supposed to evoke.

Coffee, tea or hot chocolate?

I have a confession to make. I have a very, very bad habit of making myself Yin Yeung (鴛鴦), which literally translates to mandarin duck. Basically a 3:7 ratio mixture of both coffee and Hong Kong style milk tea (I’m cheating, I know). The balance of coffee, black tea and condensed milk for me is nostalgic and just something super easy to make when I’m homesick. The lack of skill required to make it also perfect for lazy people like me – you just mix everything together in a mug!

Best Autumn fragrance

By Kilian’s Back to Black replaces Good Girl Gone Bad for me in the cooler months. GGGB is just a bit too balmy and sweet (due to the osmanthus) now that it’s cold; whereas B2B, with it’s smokey honey tobacco notes(love love love) is just perfect .

When I feel like it’s pulling a little sweet on me, I love layering Library of Fragrance’s Paperback under it as well. The synthetic vanillin note is surprisingly smooth when layered. During Autumn, I feel like I can go a little heavier with my perfume, so I always carry my scents around in a travel spray or buy smaller bottles.

Favourite book that you’re reading this fall

Clovenhoof by Heide Goody & Iain Grant, if you like He’s Back (Er Ist Wieder Da) by Timur Vermes, you’ll probably enjoy this as well. It’s a more lighthearted, non-sensical and irrelevant version of He’s Back. But the dark humour is still present and enjoyable.

I wouldn’t recommend anyone taking either book too seriously though. (Nor do I think you should read it if you’re particularly sensitive religiously or politically).

Winged eyeliner or dark lips?

Dark lips. Since I wing my eyeliner (and my life) everyday already, the only thing I can really change to make it more suited for the cooler weather is my lip color. MAC’s Dressed to the K9s is particularly flattering on my cooler tones.

Favourite Thanksgivings/roast dinner food

Coming from an entirely different culture – I’m not really familiar with the idea of both a Thanksgiving dinner and a roast dinner. I’ve looked both up however, and I think that I would (I should) enjoy whatever meat I’m served as well as the potatoes (potatoes are always good regardless of how you serve them).

What’s Autumn like where you live?

In Hong Kong, Autumn is still the end of the monsoon season – so lots and lots of torrential rain and typhoons backed by warm temperatures. We have the amazing Mid-Autumn Festival tradition though. I’ve included a photo of the mooncakes lovingly baked in the Yeung family household prepared for the festival.

IMG_3669

In Wales, right now, it’s surprisingly lovely. You wouldn’t expect it to be, but having stayed here for three weeks now, the weather has been nothing short of sunny with a cool breeze.

Back in Shrewsbury, it would have just started getting cold, and days would have started getting shorter.

Most worn sweater

My Wildfox “I’m In Love With An Angel” Sweater is what I wear the most. It’s soft and fleecy on the inside, the neckline isn’t so super tight that its uncomfortable to put on and it easily survives through washing at the laundromat as well.

Not to mention, it’s also a subtle shoutout to both my DNAngel and Supernatural addiction.

Must have nail polish

When it comes to nails, neutrals and dark colours are where my preferences tend to lie for Autumn and Winter.

Illamasqua’s Raindrops is an all round winner the whole year round for me, I’ll wear it sheerly in the warmer months and do three layers for an opaque finish in Autumn and Winter.

Football games or jumping in leaf piles?

Neither. I’ve only ever watched American Football while I was in my Eyeshield 21 phase and I’ve never seen leaf piles big enough to jump in them.

Skinny jeans or leggings?

Skinny jeans! In particular, UNIQLO’s skinny jeans. They’re stretchy, have their patented heat-tech technology (keeping you warm and cosy). They’re also affordable and come in a large range of colours. My whole wardrobe is pretty much made up of them. (I adore my pair of skinnys so much, I even have multiple pairs in the same navy colour).

Something nobody knows about me…

I can’t drink. I get drunk very easily and very quickly. I even get the Asian flush! Not attractive – at all. So I don’t normally drink. But when I do, I do it in my halls, my room or at home. I like Irish coffee (the warmer the better) and wine, but I hate shots.

Combat boots or UGGs?

I used to live in my UGGs, but having snow-logged them in Japan and having them become unrecoverable (I sprayed them with the waterproofing spray beforehand as well!), I’ve since become a fan of my Doc Martens which have proved water-proof and snow-proof even in the worst conditions. Since I brought a fur-lined pair, they’ve also never failed to keep me warm.

Pumpkin spice. Is it worth the hype?

Nope. I find it way too sweet (and this is coming from someone who can live on Caramel Macchiatos – pictured is the wonderful Caramel Macchiato from HeSheEat).

For me, Pumpkin Spice is only enjoyable in cupcake form.

IMG_3736

Favourite Autumn TV shows

I don’t have any ‘Autumn shows’, I just have shows that I’m watching now, shows I’ve watched and loved and shows I’m not watching.

I’ve just started enjoying Gotham (took a break from it for a while) and I don’t think I’ll stop watching again anytime soon. Both The Flash and How To Get Away with Murder are also getting pretty amazing in their respective Season 2s. (Everything I’m watching is in their second season?!)

Song that gets you in the Autumn spirit

For some, weird unknown reason I only feel like listening to slow rap songs in Autumn. The sadder the better. In fact, GARY‘s new album 2002 just feels perfect for Autumn and I particularly enjoy Get Some Air (바람이나 좀 쐐).

Jay Chou’s Nocturne (夜曲),

BEAST’s On Rainy Days (비가 오는 날엔),

and Outsider’s Loner (외톨이)  are also lovely.

Hats or scarves?

Scarves. Loose scarves or large scarves. While I find berets are super cute, I’m not fond of hats because my hair becomes very static-y. I’m also picky with scarves – anything that fits snug around my neck won’t be something I like because I’m incredibly ticklish.. My neck area is so sensitive that when I go swimming, if the water level is right as my neck – I’ll squeal and move about.

My last post actually showed me styling my MoonCats Cashmere Scarf!

Favourite thing about Autumn

The weather! It’s not cold as can be yet, the days are still a decent length and we still get sunshine! It’s just right, not too warm and not too cold.

FullSizeRender

Favourite Autumn movie

Labyrinth, Corpse Bride and Lady & Tramp. Please don’t ask about Lady & Tramp. I have no idea why as well. The scene where they eat pasta just makes me feel like ‘it’s Autumn, I need Italian food‘, every time I watch it. Italian food has connotations for Autumn for me, since I’ve mostly visited Italy in that short period between Summer and Autumn.

Share what you think!

