Syncope

This post actually started with not-so-nice intentions.

IMG_7020

I had fainted after receiving two vaccinations (and therefore have no idea which one caused me to faint), and by the time I returned to my dorm – all I wanted to do was take a shower and go to sleep.

Unfortunately, we have something called Prep Time here at school.

Not to be confused with the Prep Time Batman utilises, our Prep refers to the time slot given to us between 6:30 pm to 8:10 pm to do our prep (or homework, as I grew up calling it). Despite how it sounds – I actually love prep.

You were split into classrooms and for the younger students, it was supervised a prefect. Then by the last year of high school (which I am currently in), you would have unsupervised prep where you were to either study in your dorms (you can stay in your own rooms only), or the library.

We are only allowed to study in this period and eating, playing music aloud (not using headphones), or showering are all against the rules. Teachers may also come around to your rooms to check on if you’re actually doing your work.

Of course, I had to try something stupid like showering at 8 – because I fainted (as I mentioned above) – and was promptly splashed and wiped down in water by the elderly nurse (who is a really lovely person that always gives me cough drops) so I had messy hair, wet clothes and half removed water-logged makeup.

Since I started typing the post, I slowly realised that I really shouldn’t have tried to take a shower at 8, since it was only 10 more minutes and perhaps, I should have skipped supper to take a shower instead (but then, the teacher could have caught me sleeping instead – and I would have gotten into equally as much trouble). Long story short – I accepted my stupidity.

So I tried typing up something else instead. Since I received so many questions during the course of going to supper in the dining hall and walking back to the dorms… I decided to describe how it feels like to faint (mind you, it won’t be a very educational view, it’s all just by feeling).

It starts off with general lightheadedness. Not like the lightness of being, but a dizzy head bobbing mess- as if you stared too hard at your phone screen in a crouch before standing up to look at the sky.

Then you feel heat at the back of your nape, spreading from there to your ears. Blocking everything you hear into a muddled muted mess.

After that comes the physical action. Your head is numb, your throat closes up and your nose is the only thing you can breathe through before you fold. The arms lose power and your legs crumple completely following them.

Luckily, I was helped to the couch by the nurses before my legs gave out completely – else it would have been an embarrassing experience (not something I wanted my classmates to see).

I actually don’t quite remember what happened precisely after my ears started ringing, but that’s the gist of it – you never quite remember what happens and you ‘wake’ feeling slightly disoriented and dizzy. When you first wake, it starts with hearing noises more clearly first and the back of the neck is always the last place to recover for me.

I know some people describe their eyes rolling back, but I have never actually experienced that (at least, I don’t think I have).

So yes, here’s a little ramble of the day. For all those that woke up on the ground, not quite remembering what happened, what do you usually feel before everything becomes a blur?

Share what you think!

