Chanel Complete Correction CC Cream

Cosmetic alliteration.

At the Heathrow Airport, whilst purchasing some last minute souvenirs to bring back to Hong Kong a sweet SA had offered me the chance to try out the Chanel CC “Complete Correction” Cream (i.e. she walked up to me with a bottle and squeezed a good amount of product onto the back of my hand and gave me a small sample), so after applying it to my face – which was – at the time, clean and free of makeup as I was about to board a 12 hour flight, I continued to look around to see how it would fare on my skin.

IMG_5567

The CC Cream comes in only two shades: 20 Beige and 12 Beige Rose. While I understand that Chanel had primarily targeted the Asian market, this small range in shades limits their sphere of influence and margining off potential consumers. The colour I had the chance to try out was 20 Beige, a light yellow beige, which had coincidentally been the only shade with available testers at that time (likely because it was the first shade made). I imagine Beige Rose would be of the same range in terms of darkness but with a bit more pink thrown in?

With Beige, if you naturally have cooler pink undertones, you may look sickly wearing it due to it’s overcasting green/blue tone (associated with the colouring used; CL77007 Ultramarine) that almost ‘floats’ on top of your skin if you have cooler skin. Something I noticed subsequent to applying the CC cream was that this oxidised on my skin very slightly, very quickly. While not disastrous – as Chanel’s foundations have a reputation for foundations that oxidise up to 2/3 shades darker – it was noticeable on me as Beige had been quite a bit darker than my skin to begin with.

Some marketing ploys include the fact that while it claims to be packed with Hyaluronic Acid, it actually contains Sodium Hyaluronate. Unlike Hyaluronic Acid it does not help the skin to stimulate collagen production to lock in moisture in the skin. However, Sodium Hyaluronate can help your skin to absorb water more efficiently.

Chanel’s press refers to the inclusion of a supposedly magic ingredient called Rejuvencia, which aims to prevent aging, and is derived from marine micro-organisms. From what I can see, it’s actually Biotin (also known as Vitamin H or Coenzyme R) and Thermus Thermophillus Ferment (a bacterium strain found in hydrothermal vents that is an antioxidant activated through light/heat after application), both contained in small amounts.

The texture of the product is also unmistakably ‘Chanel’ (weirdly enough, it even smells the same to my Chanel hand cream) and the cream blends well. It does feel thinner in consistency in comparison to rival products such as Dior’s Diorsnow White Reveal UV Shield and applies evenly. The scent is a strong powdery floral scent that dissipates in a few minutes, and the packaging is sleek and aesthetically pleasing.

For those with dry skin this will still stick to any dry patches and for those with oily skin- touch ups and powder are still needed, but for those with normal and calm skin with not a lot of imperfections, this will be a great product for that my-skin-by-better look as it provides medium coverage, so it will cover any minor imperfections and give a natural semi-matte finish. Because of its high level of silicones, it covers pores well. My pores aren’t huge, but I imagine that if the shade had matched my skin would have looked pretty good in selfies.

The formula indeed brightens dull skin when removed and as it contains centaurea cyanus flower (cornflower) water, it can help prevent irritation. Witch hazel water is also included and acne prone girls will recognise this as a helpful ingredient, though it may prove drying on drier skin types. Both cornflower and witch hazel waters have an astringent effect. A multi-tasking product at heart, it contains SPF30 PA+++ with UVA/UVB filters, which is always nice to have.

Despite it claims, it became greasy on me after a few hours. If you have skin that is slightly more blemished, this will not cover it (too sheer a formula). It doesn’t make acne or dry patches look worse, however for its price I had hoped it would at least improve the appearance of it. A major gripe I had on the product was the amount of chemicals it has. With alcohol, drying out skin; stearic acid, which clogs pores; methylparaben, a preservative that can cause oxidative stress; and phenoxyethanol, which irritates skin and eyes. Phenoxyethanol is restricted for use in Japan.

For it’s price ($90US) I think there are much better products out there. Like a lot of the normal BB creams that are a fraction of the cost, the first few ingredients are silicones, aqua and titanium dioxide.

A few major issues I had with the product was its limited shade selection (the CC Cream leaves a strange yellow cast on my skin and was too dark), the phenoxyethanol and the greasy feeling that felt as if the product was always slipping around. If you’re looking to buy Chanel’s CC Cream, this definitely needs to be set.

I’d apologize for the exhaustingly long text heavy review, but because it’s a release from such a well established brand I had expected a product more fitting for it’s price point that is safe for its consumers to use.

Share what you think!

